“It is not more heroic to die on the mission field of Zambia than to die daily on the mission field of your own home. “

from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0qRNx-fyMI

Right now, right this second, I’m listening to a sermon on Biblical Motherhood and how we view it (link above); how I view it; as a mom, as a woman, as a Christian. There are times, often many times, where it feels so insignificant. I change diapers, I make baby food, I play with music makers and little tiny cars. I wake up in the middle of the night when my little girl is crying because she can’t find her blanket. I clean up after 2 adults, a baby, and a dog. I sweep the floors just so that they can get dirty again. I wash clothes just so they can get food and grass stains on them again.

It may sound boring…in fact, it is boring at times. But you know what else I get to do? I get to spend the morning taking her for a bike ride with the dog, stopping at the park to play in the sand, then heading home to eat a healthy breakfast and play with the music makers and tiny cars, hopping into the shower with her and playing in the “rain”, and skyping with my mom, her Nana. I get to tickle her and laugh as she tickles me. I get to read her books and encourage her imagination. I get to have play dates with her friends and teach her how to share and play without hitting. I get to bring her to church where she will learn that it’s fun and Jesus loves her. I get to see her roll over for the first time, sit up for the first time, stand up for the first time, and soon, walk for the first time.

I get to. I don’t have to, but I GET to. Motherhood may not involve trekking through the jungles of Africa, swinging on a vine over a crocodile filled river to catch the last plane out of a cannibalistic village all the while dodging poison tipped arrows, but it is adventurous in it’s own way. I mean, biking down the road with a 70 lb mutt who would rather be chasing rabbits, while pulling a trailer with an almost toddler in it isn’t exactly ho-hum. I may not be dodging arrows on a typical day, but I am bobbing and weaving the flying sand my daughter thinks is fun to throw around. And thankfully, at the end of the day, the adventure has wound down and I get to enjoy the little monster.

photo

