I tell myself everyday I’m going to blog…and then I don’t. I think about things that would be funny, or informative or cute (i.e. my offspring) and then by the time I have some time, I completely forget what I thought would be so cool to blog about. Or, as often is the case, I just don’t have the time. But this morning as my daughter is so graciously sleeping in late, I was on facebook and came across this blog: http://mylifeasacraig.blogspot.com/2014/06/modest-is-not-hottest.html?m=1 and I knew that I had to share it. Because this is the type of information I want my daughter to not just read, but to know and to believe as she grows older. This is the type of stuff that I know intimately because I could have written this girls’ blog myself.

I believe God designed a woman (and all women start as girls, so this is for all those girls too) to want to be wanted by a man. The world has perverted that desire and has lied to all those girls out there, having them believe that being wanted by ALL men is how life should be lived and to get men to want you, use your body. You look around and women’s bodies are shown all over the place-store front advertising, opening scenes in movies (let alone throughout the entire movie), magazine articles and marketing, TV commercials (I recently saw a hair product commercial that just had to show a women’s butt cheek hanging out of her underwear….seriously?) and shows, and the list goes on and on.

I want my daughter growing up knowing that she is “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14) by Christ, her Creator and Savior. A woman with a hefty chest may get the cat calls and wolf whistles (the responsibility of men to honor and respect a woman is enough material for another blog), but according to Proverbs 31, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” 

Do I want to look hot? Absolutely! But for my man, and my man only. I don’t need other men to lust over me to feel good about myself. My identity is in Christ alone and I know that what I look like is nothing compared to WHO I AM as a person. And, even more important that being “hot” is being beautiful. I found this on another blog (http://elitedaily.com/life/culture/the-actual-difference-between-women-who-are-hot-and-who-are-beautiful):

Hot is admired from afar; beauty is to be held.

Hot is perception; beauty is appreciation.

Hot is smokey-eyed; beautiful is bare-faced.

Hot is an appearance; beautiful is more than skin deep.

Hot is the way she moans; beautiful is the way she speaks.

Hot is a strong appeal; beautiful is strong mind.

Hot is youthful; beautiful is ageless.

Hot is conventional; beauty is unique.

Hot is a one-night stand; beautiful is sleepless nights.

Hot is a state of being; beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Hot is devious; beautiful is innocent.

Hot is bending her over; beautiful is baking her blueberry pancakes.

Hot is sultry; beautiful is wholesome.

Hot is her curves; beauty is her nerves.

Hot is a text message; beautiful is a love letter.

Hot is a facade; beautiful is a woman.

 

So, my dear daughter, who at the innocent age of only 6 months has no idea what I am talking about, may you be raised in a home that is led by one man and one woman. A husband and a wife who are passionate about nurturing their love affair with each other. A mom and a dad who honor and love each other for who they are, not what they look like (because believe me, the physical WILL change!). May you grow up knowing that you are loved, LOVED, by parents who are praying for your future husband already, that he will know the difference between hot and beautiful, and that he will desire a beautiful woman. Because that, my dear, is who you are.

