WebMD describes hot flashes as occurring when “the blood vessels near the skin’s surface dilate to cool. This produces the red, flushed look to the face. A woman may alsosnowmen perspire to cool down the body. In addition, some women experience a rapid heart rate or chills.” It also says to help reduce hot flashes, decrease your stress levels. Ummmmm, how do I decrease my stress levels when I have a baby? Don’t let her cry? If you know how I can achieve that, please let me know. Better time management so I can get everything done that I need to and not have to rush from one thing to the next? If you want to come work for me for free so that I can get more done, sure, come on over. Exercise is supposed to help too, but you’ll have to forgive me for living in a state that is perpetually warm/hot, even during the winter. A simple 20-minute walk around the neighborhood makes me sweat even more, which annoys the heck out of me, which makes me have hot flashes. I tell ya, it’s an endless cycle.

tropicsI also read that breastfeeding moms have hot flashes worse than non-nursing moms. Great, so I have to put my baby at risk of getting sick more often, having a lower IQ, and a higher risk of developing diabetes just so I can go one day without sweating like a pig? Apparently my off-balanced hormone levels are to blame. Hormones, they really are the root of all our womanly problems. PMS (though I don’t think I really go through this). Pregnancy craziness (don’t you dare tell a pregnant woman she’s acting crazy!). Post-pregnancy blues (I can’t count the number of times I’ve cried in the last 11 weeks). Perimenopause (which I just read can start in the mid-30’s…which I’m just 3 short years away from). Menopause (which can last anywhere from 2-10 years). We women sure do have it made……not. In fact, I’m sweating just sitting here typing this.

inner child          still hot        power surges


   
  

 

