garth

Garth Brooks-a great musical artist, I’m in love with most of his songs, including one titled “The Dance”.

The best piece of advice I’ve gotten about raising a baby is it’s a dance…and the baby is leading; I’m just following. I could drive myself crazy trying to live a life I want to and stick to a schedule that I set. But I’ve found the days go a lot smoother when I follow Georgia’s lead-she wants to eat every 2 hours (sometimes even more often)? You got it Miss Piggy. She wants to wake up after only a 30 minute nap? Good to see you again, I missed you. She wants to be held non-stop? That’s why I bought a carrier, hop on in. She wants to talk to me instead of looking at her hanging toys? The laundry can wait, I’d rather have a conversation with you. There’s a time coming soon where I’ll take over that lead roll, but for now, I’m enjoying her for who she is and what she needs, right now.

Kinda reminds me of my relationship with Christ…except that I have no plans to take that lead roll at any point in time. Funny how life goes a lot smoother when I’m following His lead-He wants me to forgive my Dad for not being there most of my life? I took that burden off my shoulders and laid it at His feet years ago; what a relief (Luke 17:4-“Even if they sin against you seven times in a day and seven times come back to you saying ‘I repent,’ you must forgive them.”). He wants me to submit to my husband as the head of our household? Hard…but I lay my will at His feet and take up my role as helper to my man (Genesis 2:18-“The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.””). He promises me the husband and family I long for but wants me to wait 5 years to receive it? It was worth the wait and I couldn’t be more joyful with the husband and daughter He has blessed me with (Hebrews 6:13-15-“When God made his promise to Abraham, …saying, “I will surely bless you and give you many descendants.” And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.”)

 

“And now I’m glad I didn’t know, the way it all would end, the way it all would go. Our lives are better left to chance. I could have missed the pain, but I’d have had to miss the dance” –Garth Brooks

 

 

 

